POPPA HOWARD QUESTIONS MACINTOSH / APPLE VERSUS WINDOWS COMPUTERS

Standard

POPPA HOWARD QUESTIONS   MACINTOSH / APPLE   VERSUS  WINDOWS  COMPUTERS. 

 

Saved as  “Website-MacintoshComputers.doc”

 

Hi Folks, , ,

What is the difference between , , ,(no, this isn’t a Riddle), , ,  (but on the other hand, perhaps it is!!), , , a Macintosh  / Apple Computer and a Microsoft Windows ditto?

A LITTLE BIT OF MY OWN HISTORY IN THE WORLD OF COMPUTERS

For years and years, I worked solely with Microsoft Windows Computers. I wouldn’t even consider looking at a Macintosh, a lot of rubbish, so I was told,  ,,  ,, which just goes to show how successful  anti-Mac propaganda really is.

I started off as a real ‘Computer Wiz Kid’ with a ‘Commodore 64’ (that had a whopping big 64 KILO BYTE  Hard Drive !!)., , , ,I could write my own ‘Basic;’ Programs and teach others how to use a Computer.  How things have changed, how the mighty are fallen !!    I now have to go to my Grandchildren to solve all my computer problems!!!

THE ADVANTAGES OF AN APPLE / MAC’  COMPUTER

Anyway, getting back to the thorny question of an Apple thrown through an open  Window, , , , After battling with a  particular very annoying Windows program on which I had spent hours and hours trying to solve, and then it locked up my computer for a whole day whilst  it was downloading something I did not require !!!, , , , Justin, my Grandson-in- law (i.e. my daughter Angela’s  daughter Christy’s  husband) , asked me how I would I like a computer that, , , , , ,

(a) Loads up programs IMMEDIATELY you press a couple of Keys

(b) Goes onto the Internet or onto your email work-page IMMEDIATELY you press a couple of keys.

(c) OUTSIDE VIRUS ATTACK IS ELIMINATED JUST ABOUT ALTOGETHER, conversely, you cannot infect anyone else with a Virus , , thus saving you a fortune in money and hours of time, to say nothing of annoying other people with virus-infected programs!!.

(d) It is FULLY SELF-SUPPORTING, as it has dozens of exciting goodies. either built-in or as Mackintosh ‘Add-ons’.   So you don’t have to download lots of other rubbishy (possibly virus infected) programs off the Internet. (If you are stupid enough to do this, however, you can’t blame Mac’ if you introduce a virus or ‘gum up the works’!! ).

(f) Plays music at the touch of a single Key.

(g) You don’t need a separate ‘Explorer’ type of ’program as in Window’s to move files and programs around, you JUST DO IT then and there, straight away, simply with Drag and Drop.

(h) It has the option of announcing the time on the hour

(i) A built-in camera will take your picture and save it at the touch of a couple of keys.

(j)  A built-in Camera Capture Program for instantly  down-loading editing, saving and printing your camera pics’.

(k)  It has an amazing ADDRESS BOOK that has a whole page for each entry, onto which you can record name & postal address, telephone number, cell phone number, email address and comments.  It will also print out a visiting card from these details, and when you want to send an email, you only have to type in the first 3 letters of a name in the ‘Send’ Strip, and Mac’ will then sniff out the email address from the Address Book !!

(l) You are not going to believe this, , ,Highlight text TO HAVE IT READ BACK TO YOU , ,  , You can adjust speed, pitch and even select readers !!!

From the above, you can see that you have everything you can possibly need, (and I have only just scratched the surface!!) so you don’t, therefore, have to down-load a lot of unnecessary outside (possibly dangerous!) junk !!

 

THERE CAN’T POSSIBLY BE SUCH AN ANNIMAL !!!

I said ”I don’t believe there is such an animal. I would give my back teeth for a Computer that did even half of all that”.  So Justin said “Well you had better make an appointment with your Dentist, because an Apple Computer will do all this and tons more!!!”

IN FOR A PENNY, IN FOR A POUND, , , I GOT ONE !!!

So to cut a very long story short, in for a penny in for a pound, ,  , ,I  invested in a 21 inch Desk Top iMac Computer, and I have never regretted it, even though, at R11,000,  it is about three times the price of a Windows computer. This is one of the adverse criticisms of buying a Mac’. Other criticisms are totally unfounded but someone, somewhere, has done a mighty good job of letting poor old Mac’s tires down !!!!

CONCLUSION

I should have changed to Apple years ago.  If I had done this, I would have saved myself an absolute fortune in Anti-Vitus programs to say nothing of the hours spent running them. I also think of the hours wasted, waiting for programs and the Internet to load up., , , , Windows has a lot to  learn from Apple !!!

So my conclusion, , , buy yourself an Apple- Mackintosh Computer, and you, also, will never regret it.

Other Computer users will also thank you for not sending them viruses !!

c c c c c c c c c c c c c c c c c c c c c c c

END OF  DOCUMENT

About POPPA HOWARD DAVIES

I am a retired Electrical Engineer (Pr. Eng.) and worked for the Johanesburg Electricity Department for 30 years (being Head of a large Department), I am a Pianist and a Church Organist (I have given Recitals on the Johannesburg City Hall Organ at lunchtime Concerts). At presentI I play for Chapel Services at Elphin Lodge and at the Aldersgate Methodist Church., , , I came out to South Africa in 1953 to represent Ferguson Paiilin Switchgear Ltd. Manchester U.K.., , ,I was born on Merseyside (home of "The Beetles" !!) and served my Electrical Engineering Apprenticeship on Liverpool Docks., , , During the War I was evacuated to a Welsh Farm in North Wales ("Caerwys") and attended the Holywell Grammar School eight miles distant. There is lots more of course but this will give you just a tiny glimse of Yours Truly.

One response »

Leave a Reply

