POPPA HOWARD’S HOME PAGE

Standard

HI EVERYBODY !!!  , , ,  I’M  POPPA  HOWARD. . . . . . .

For starters, , , before ANYTHING else , , , Here is my Theme Song, to be sung to the Chorus of that lovely Christmas song “Mary’s Boy Child.’ which  starts off as follows:-  “Hark now hear the Angels sing, , , , Listen to what they say” etc: etc:  Now here is MY version, , , , ,  “ Hark now hear what ‘Poppa’ sings,     Listen to what he says,    And he will lead you to the Truth   All through the coming days”

INTRODUCTION

Who on earth is this  “Poppa Howard Davies? ,,,, You may well ask!

The following, written by one of my critics,  just about sums it all up , , , , , , , , ,

Poppa Howard is a present-day Philosopher cum Original Thinker with a terrific sense of humour (which constantly over-spills into all of  his writings!). He is not afraid to express his own particular brand of very original philosophy and frankly admits that he could be miles out (kilometers?) in some of his beliefs but he says that these are not set in stone and he is always ready to update them as and when required.

He unashamedly writes with a total disregard for ‘The Queen’s English’  but in a delightful chatty way, just like having a good old hobnob with you over a cup of coffee.  Even if you don’t agree with all or some of his ideas, what he writes does make very thought-provoking and fascinating reading.

WHY POPPA ??!!

In his own words,,” I was looking for a unique name to use on the Internet but there are 6,620,000 John Howard Davies’s (this is not a typing error,,, check it out in “Google” !!).     In our family there were two Grandpa’s, so one was called “Outie” and the other one (me) “Poppa”.     So I use this now for all unique names needed for various things, such as this Website”.     Neat!  Hey What??!!

A  LITTLE  BIT ABOUT ME

I am a retired Electrical Engineer (Pr. Eng.) and worked for the  Johannesburg Electricity Department for 30 years (being Head of a large Department).

I am a Pianist and a Church Organist (I have given Recitals on the Johannesburg City Hall Organ at lunchtime Concerts). At present I play for Chapel Services at Elphin Lodge and at the Aldersgate Methodist Church.

I came out to South Africa in 1953 to represent Ferguson Pailin Switchgear Ltd. Manchester U.K.., , ,I was born on Merseyside (home of “The Beetles” !!) and served my Electrical Engineering  Apprenticeship on Liverpool Docks.

During the War I was evacuated to a Welsh Farm in North Wales (“Caerwys”) and attended the Holywell Grammar School eight miles distant where I matriculated.

I am an “Oxygenarian ” (i.e.when over 80 they put you on oxygen, , , ha ha !!)  and I  have been living  (since Feb’ 1996) in a Retirement Village, namely,  Rand Aid’s Elphin Lodge, Lyndhurst, Johannesburg, South Africa.

There is lots and lots  more of course but this will give you just a tiny glimse of Yours Truly.

ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc

PICTURE  GALLERY



About POPPA HOWARD DAVIES

I am a retired Electrical Engineer (Pr. Eng.) and worked for the Johanesburg Electricity Department for 30 years (being Head of a large Department), I am a Pianist and a Church Organist (I have given Recitals on the Johannesburg City Hall Organ at lunchtime Concerts). At presentI I play for Chapel Services at Elphin Lodge and at the Aldersgate Methodist Church., , , I came out to South Africa in 1953 to represent Ferguson Paiilin Switchgear Ltd. Manchester U.K.., , ,I was born on Merseyside (home of "The Beetles" !!) and served my Electrical Engineering Apprenticeship on Liverpool Docks., , , During the War I was evacuated to a Welsh Farm in North Wales ("Caerwys") and attended the Holywell Grammar School eight miles distant. There is lots more of course but this will give you just a tiny glimse of Yours Truly.

Leave a Reply

